Wysocki runs away with 2013 Texas States Championship

Ricky Wysocki

Photo: PDGA Media

From the start the first drive of the 2013 Texas States Championships to the final putt, one name sat at the top of the leaderboard: Ricky Wysocki. Wysocki grabbed the lead after the first round and rode his momentum to victory in the second stop of the 2013 PDGA National Tour in Texas. Other winners from the 2013 Texas States include Sarah Hokom in the Women’s Open division and Patrick Brown in the Masters division.

Wysocki opened Texas States with an 8 under par 65. This gave him a two shot lead over Ron Convers and David Hemmeline heading into the second day of play. The field was pretty tight with 18 golfers within 7 shots of Wysocki. With the high wind, tight rough, and overall difficulty of East Metro Park in Manor, Texas, nothing was set in stone.

With high winds playing a factor on the entire field, day two saw Nikko Locastro and Paul Ulibarri get their game going and equal Wysocki’s total from day one with a 65. Paul McBeth also rebounded and followed Locastro and Ulibarri with a 66. Unfortunately for that trio, Wysocki wasn’t letting up. Wysocki shot a bogey free round to pull away from the field. His 59 in the second round was unofficially rated at 1092. The hot round was able to give Wysocki a 12 throw lead over Locastro, McBeth, and Ulibarri.

With the title nearly locked up, the final round really a race for second place. McBeth was able to improve on his previous two rounds and shot the hot round on the final day with a 60. McBeth’s 60 and Wysocki’s 59 in round two were the only two rounds of 60 or better in the tournament. Wysocki shot a 62 to wrap up the victory and beat McBeth by 10 shots to win the 2013 Texas States Championship. Locastro shot a 67 to hang onto third place at Texas States. Convers and Hemmeline, who both compete in the Masters division at times, were able to finish in a tie for fourth.

Women’s Open

The Women’s side of Texas States saw a tight battle between Sarah Hokom and Catrina Ulibarri. The first round saw Catrina Ulibarri take a two shot lead over Hokom with Des Reading six shots behind in third. On the second day of play, Hokom shot the hot round with a 79 to take a one shot lead.

Hokom’s lead could have been a little larger, but she took a six on hole 18 after her first and second tee shots went out of bounds on the island hole. Luckily, for Hokom the error didn’t phase her.

Day three saw Hokom able to cruise to victory as she shot eight shots better than anyone else in the round to pull away with a nine shot win over Catrina Ulibarri.

Paige Pierce finished third, Reading was fourth, while Liz Lopez-Dorries finished off the top five.

Other winners include:

  • Masters: Patrick Brown
  • Grandmasters: Skeeter Harrison
  • Advanced: Adam Morrison
  • Advanced Women: Jennifer Tasby
  • Advanced Masters: Edward Palacios
  • Intermediate: Sean Johnson
  • Intermediate Women: Tawna Hazelwood

The 2013 PDGA National Tour takes a rest until April 26-28 when the tour rolls into Santa Cruz, California for the “Steady” Ed Memorial Masters Cup.


Leave A Reply